Skip to content

Live Free

December 17, 2013

Comfort Zone

“I was too deep in my comfort zone.” The words had barely escaped my mind, urging their way towards my tongue when I caught them and reeled them back to the place in the corner, where they belong.

Because it was true, and still can be true. At one point, or numerous points, there have been days where I stay put. I don’t seek adventure, as I always dream of doing. I become lazy in my appetite to learn, to do, to move in this city that has a plethora of action. Fleeting moments of time that I am not in the moment. I forget that magic is happening. I’m missing it.

I’m missing it as I focus on mundane tasks that take over our every day. I’m focused on growing up. On being mature. On wearing the right thing. On reading the same feeds. And in that comes a bubble that encompasses our actual being. We become the person who is not free from ourselves. So focused on what we are doing, however insignificant, and where we are going, we forget we can dream bigger. There’s more. We can witness change and movement and magic and living in the moment of freedom; of being ourselves without any idea, or care for that matter, of what anyone else is thinking.

That would be outside my comfort zone. Live freely from your judgement of yourself. You could change the world.

Live Free

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ric Shellhammer permalink
    December 17, 2013 10:17 pm

    Al … love your post. It’s something I think about now on a daily basis.

  2. January 23, 2014 4:07 pm

    Love this! I have a post-it above my desk that reads: “Embrace the whimsy.” It’s from one of my favorite books, “A Million Miles in a Thousand Years.” I have a feeling you would enjoy it. Too often we get scared of magical things and get comfortable and complacent with the mundane.

    • February 3, 2014 5:20 pm

      I have added it to my book list and will read it (hopefully) soon! Thanks for the share. Let’s not be complacent… at least let’s do our best at not becoming complacent.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 654 other followers

